Power Electronics

Professor Receives Power Electronics Award

Dr. Dushan Boroyevich is the fifth professor from the Center for Power Electronics Systems (CPES) to receive the William E. Newell Power Electronics Award. The award recognizes Dr. Boroyevich “for advancement of control, modeling, and design of switching power converters.” Since 1998, Boroyevich (together with CPES Director Fred Lee) has also worked in partnership with more than 80 member companies and led CPES to become a renowned power electronics research and education center. The award was presented on June 21, 2007 at the Power Electronics Specialist’s Conference in Orlando, Fla.

The Williams E. Newell Power Electronics Award has been presented annually since 1977 to recognize outstanding achievements and contributions to the advancement of power electronics. Beginning in 2005, the Award was elevated to an IEEE Technical Field Award, sponsored by the Power Electronics Society. Previous CPES recipients include Professors Fred Lee (1989), Tom Lipo (1990), Daan van Wyk (1995) and Tom Jahns (1999).

TAGS: News
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.