Power Electronics

IEEE Honors Top Technology Minds

IEEE honored some of the top technological minds from around the globe at the 2011 IEEE Honors Ceremony in San Francisco, California, on Aug. 20, 2011.

The following industry leaders were recognized for exceptional contributions in the field of electrical engineering. The theme of this year's event is "The Power of Persistence" and the scope of their work reflects this.

Recipients recognized in the field of electrical engineering are:

  • Isamu Akasaki, a researcher who persistently pursued developing nitride-based materials suitable for producing blue and white light-emitting diodes (LEDs) and lasers that have led to today's high-brightness display lighting and advanced entertainment devices, is being honored with the 2011 IEEE Edison Medal.
  • Raj Mittra, an engineer and educator who has devoted his career to inspiring and preparing students to excel in the field of electromagnetics, is being honored with the 2011 IEEE James H. Mulligan, Jr. Education Medal.
  • James M. Headrick, an engineer who for over six decades was a key contributor to the success of high-frequency over-the-horizon (OTH) radar, an important and lasting advance in the field. Headrick, who passed away in February 2011, is being honored with the 2011 IEEE Dennis J. Picard Medal for Radar Technologies and Applications.
  • Imec, a research company that has continually been at the forefront of advances in semiconductor technology and has always serves as proving ground for advancements in microelectronics with close collaboration with the global industry, is being honored with the 2011 IEEE Corporate Innovation Recognition.
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.