Power Electronics

Fabless Semiconductor Association Names New Chairman

The Fabless Semiconductor Association (FSA), the voice of the global fabless business model, recently announced that Dr. Sanjay Jha, executive vice president of QUALCOMM Inc. and group president of Qualcomm CDMA Technologies, has been named chairman of the association’s board of directors. Jha succeeds Wim Roelandts, president, CEO and chairman of Xilinx Inc., who has held the FSA chairman role since 2000.

“Wim Roelandts has served on the FSA board for more than four years and has been an instrumental influence in our growth and global expansion efforts. During his tenure, the FSA membership has grown to just under 500 corporate members; we have expanded our reach into Asia and Europe; and we have seen our industry contribution increase through launching new reports and working committees that provide reliable data and standards to the industry,” said Jodi Shelton, co-founder and executive director of the FSA.

In his role as the new chairman of the FSA board, Jha will help set the association’s strategic direction, working closely with the FSA’s executive management team to execute the association’s vision. Additionally, he will act as a global representative of the FSA, speaking at association and partner events.

"The fabless semiconductor industry has grown from humble beginnings to support more than 10 $1 billion revenue fabless companies," said Jha. "This is a particularly exciting time in the fabless industry, with growth for the fabless sector predicted at twice the growth of the semiconductor industry in general."

Incorporated in 1994, the FSA provides a platform for meaningful global collaboration between fabless companies and their partners. The FSA’s roster of members includes many suppliers of power management ICs, both fabless and those with their own wafer fabs. Among these companies are AMI Semiconductor, Austria Microsystems, Enpirion, International Rectifier, Intersil, iWatt, National Semiconductor, Potentia Semiconductor, Power-One, Primarion, and Renesas.

For more information, visit www.fsa.org.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.