Power Electronics

Dr. Morris Chang Exemplary Leadership Award Honors Stanford University President, Dr. John Hennessy

The Global Semiconductor Alliance (GSA) proudly announces the winner of the Dr. Morris Chang Exemplary Leadership Award, industry veteran Dr. John Hennessy, president of Stanford University. Dr. Hennessy will be presented with this lifetime achievement award during the GSA Awards Dinner Celebration on Thursday, Dec. 9, 2010, at the Santa Clara Convention Center in Santa Clara, Calif.

Established in 1999, the first GSA "Exemplary Leadership Award" was given to Dr. Morris Chang, chairman and chief executive officer of Taiwan Semiconductor Manufacturing Corporation (TSMC). Today, the Dr. Morris Chang Exemplary Leadership Award recognizes
individuals for their exceptional contributions, exemplifying how their vision and global leadership have transformed and elevated the entire semiconductor industry.

Dr. Hennessy joined Stanford's faculty in 1977. After six years in the classroom, he earned the position of director of the Computer Systems Laboratory, where he served in this role from 1983 to 1993. In 1994, he served as the chair of computer science department and in 1996 he was named dean of the school of engineering. In 1999, he was appointed as provost, the university's chief academic and financial officer. In October 2000, he was inaugurated as Stanford University's 10th president - and the only president who possessed engineering specialty and degrees.

"I am honored to be recognized for my life's work and long-time passion," said Dr. Hennessy. "It has been the opportunity of a lifetime to get to do what I love each and every day especially at an institution as progressive and innovative as Stanford University. My team and I have worked tirelessly to make a difference within the semiconductor industry. And I am humbled to be recognized by such an accomplished group."

Dr. Hennessy is a recipient of the 2000 IEEE John von Neumann Medal, the 2000 ASEE Benjamin Garver Lamme Award, the 2001 ACM Eckert-Mauchly Award, the 2001 Seymour Cray Computer Engineering Award, a 2004 NEC C&C Prize for lifetime achievement in computer science and engineering, a 2005 Founders Award from the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and named the 2007 Fellow of the Computer History Museum. He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering and the National Academy of Sciences, as well as a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the Association for Computing Machinery and the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.